Improving Care

Reducing morbidity and mortality and enhancing quality of life

Informing Policy

Transforming health care at the local, national and international levels

Featured Projects

With more than 80 scientists, research at Advancing Health encompasses a wide breadth of areas


The Evidence Speaks

A recurring feature highlighting the latest in Advancing Health research

Our People

In the News

Research Resources

From design to execution, Advancing Health provides a broad range of support services

Work in Progress Seminar Series

Our People

Dr. Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes receives 2016 Research and Mission Award

Posted on


The SALOME research team at PHCRI’s 2016 Research Day. Courtesy PHCRI

We would like to congratulate CHÉOS Scientist Dr. Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes on receiving the 2016 Research and Mission Award from the Providence Health Care Research Institute (PHCRI). This annual award is given to an outstanding researcher who exemplifies Providence Health Care’s (PHC) mission and values.

Dr. Eugenia Oviedo-Joekes

PHC President and CEO Ms. Dianne Doyle presented Dr. Oviedo-Joekes with her award at the annual PHCRI Research Day, which took place on May 9. Dr. Oviedo-Joekes was recognized for her efforts to improve health care and quality of life for people living with heroin addiction. “We need to do the best for our patients,” said Dr. Oviedo-Joekes after receiving her award. “It is definitely up to us to keep them safe, give them the opportunity to recover, and make effective treatments available.”

An Associate Professor at UBC’s School of Population and Public Health, Dr. Oviedo-Joekes is the Principal Investigator for the Study to Assess Longer-Term Opioid Maintenance Effectiveness (SALOME). The results of the ground-breaking clinical trial, published in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) Psychiatry in April, found hydromorphone (HDM) to be as effective as diacetylmorphine (pharmaceutical-grade prescription heroin) for individuals with opioid addiction who have not benefited from previous treatments, such as methadone or suboxone.

Past recipients of the award include: Dr. John Webb (2011), Dr. Eric Grafstein (2012), Dr. Evan Wood (2013) and Dr. Richard Harrigan (2014), and Drs. Jonathon Leipsic and Don Sin (2015).


Recent Stories

At Advancing Health, we produce high-quality evidence to change health care through improved patient care, evidence-informed policy, and innovative health system approaches.